The Calvinization of the SBC Continues!

Screenshot (1419)

Greenway nominated to lead Southwestern Seminary

Click on Link to see Announcement from SWBTS

 

 

About sbcissues

Interested in bringing the issues facing The Southern Baptist Convention to light.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Calvinization of the SBC Continues!

  1. I said, at the time of Patterson’s firing, that this would happen.

  2. Ken Miller says:

    How can anyone doubt that the SBC has been successfully commandeered by the Calvinists.

    The time has come for all Bible-believing, God-fearing SBCers to realize that fact and take steps to leave the SBC to the heretics and form a new convention that believes the true gospel.

  3. Dyann says:

    I am 67 years old. My mother was SB, my dad Lutheran. They agreed to cultivate their children in the country Methodist church. My maternal uncle was a SB preacher. I have no idea if I was a difficult child who needed to be controlled. My earliest memory is being slapped (age 3) for asking a question about God. Home, church, uncle all told me I was one selected for hell. 1 in 6 women have breast cancer, why not 1 in 3 to hell? They did however keep me very busy cleaning the church floors and bathrooms. I struggle daily with the deep imprinting that I have no options. This conflict initiated by scholarship of men turns my stomach. I feel like I walk among 20 jaywalkers on the streets of New York City but I am the only one ticketed for violating the street light. That said, Age 21 I asked the senior minister where in the church would I actually hear the Lord condemn me, that I might be assured of hell. He responded you must go to Bible College and then Seminary to be equipped to hear God. I went to both, they reinforced my fear of the selected violation and the one way ticket to hell. I appreciate the interactions and discussions I have read on this webpage. It validates that different solidified theological positions fuel conflict which sets the individual condemned to a terrifying eternal condemnation aside.
    Although my mind tracks the love of a good and goodwill granting God. My heart remains fearful of the potential ill will of Calvin’s God. I await my death to actually determine if I be blessed or I be cursed. Anyone know if God plays chess and throws all the insignificant pieces to the floor? I know God is good. I know God has been good to me. Do I trust God to be God? Yes… if found to be in the elect after years of condemnation you can bet I will be having a conversation with Calvin in the Kingdom of God! If found to be condemned, I will be taking a lot of theology and Bible with me to the pit.

  4. sbcissues says:

    Dyann,
    It is a shame you were raise with the condemnation you were “condemned to hell.” I have great news for you. No one in this life has the right to tell anyone that they are condemned to hell. My prayer is that you have done as Paul told the Philippian jailer when he asked, What must I do to be saved? 31 And they said, “Believe in the Lord Jesus, and you will be saved, you and your household.” (Acts 26)

    Here is the deal. All men have sinned and come short of the glory of God. The wages of sin is death. Calvies have taken this to mean you are dead spiritually and the result of that death is deaf ears, blinded eyes and a stone cold dead heart. This condition renders the unregenerate (lost person) unable or unwilling to repent and believe.

    The Bible says the gospel is the power of God unto salvation… NOT regeneration as the calvie contends. I will go with the Bible and believe that Jesus died on the cross to pay the penalty for all who repent and turn to Christ in response to the gospel and the convicting, convincing work of the Holy Spirit in the human heart. Conviction and convincing BOTH require a response and I believe all men are “response-able” where the salvific initiatives of God are concerned.

    So trust God by faith because that is what the Bible tells you to do and Trust God to save you and He promises that is what He will do.

    May God bless and thank you for visiting my site.

    • Dyann says:

      Thank you for your response, thoughtful of you. For me… The Kingdom of God is like a mustard seed… it grows within as it is cultivated. Every day He offers opportunity to grow in our experience of His grace, redemption and salvation; relationship with Him. I agree it requires commitment, listening, acknowledged inherited guilt and polluted being, responding to One Paraclete who guides us so very gently. My entry was a documentation of man’s potential and ability to distort the Word and its consequences as it seeds doubts. Truth versus weed. Children are not gifted with ability to shift wheat from chaff. My childhood was a desert filled with ill will, seeded with weeds. I am encouraged by the scripture that documents Satan’s attempt to create doubt and Jesus firm resistance to it. And the means by which He resisted. Having studied the writings of John Calvin, having followed the writing and sermons of the great men, proponents of TULIP, I find faith and doubt two sides of a human nickel. I suspect all contributors would stand against abortion. Odd, against abortion of the flesh, but some are comfortable with a God aborting souls. I appreciate the question of the rich young ruler and the Phil. jailer. The possibility of distortion of its answer… of Jesus intentions and Paul’s intention seed doubt. Exactly the intention of Satan. I am seeded, the weed will not be pulled until the harvest. I appreciate every entry as each is convincing their heart of God’s intention. Thank you for your prayers on my behalf. I am trusting that God’s intention toward all is pre-destination to His Kingdom. “Follow me, come and see”. One must accept the invitation, walk the narrow road and deflect all enemy distractions.

      I offer… beware children are listening, consequences of hearing are being cultivated. I have listened to many women who accept TULIP theology without question and have no problem sharing “ Lord, I am so blessed by you and am not like the one you pre-destined to hell”. Jesus spoke to that 🙂

Leave a comment